



























Joint statement

of the Chairpersons of the Foreign Affairs Committees of the Parliaments on the unjustified Russian military build-up in and around Ukraine and in Belarus 18 February 2022

We, the Chairs of our respective parliament's Committees,

Following the ongoing Russian military build-up closely at the Russian-Ukrainian border, in the illegally annexed Crimea, as well as the joint military exercise of Russia and Belarus,

Call on Russia to de-escalate the situation, withdraw its troops from Ukraine's border and the territory of Belarus;

Recall that any further military aggression against Ukraine will have massive consequences and severe costs in response, including restrictive measures coordinated with partners;

Urge Russia not to recognize the non-government-controlled areas of Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts of Ukraine as independent entities as it would be a blatant violation of Ukraine's territorial integrity and sovereignty;

Call on Belarus to ensure full transparency of the joint military exercise of Russia and Belarus, "Union Resolve 2022", concerning the strength and composition of military forces, primary weapon and military equipment systems and the timeline of return of forces to home basis;

Urge Russia and Belarus to ensure compliance of their political and military commitments with the principles of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE).

Pavel Fischer	Marko Mihkelson	Charlie Flanagan	Bogdan Klich
Chairman	Chairman	Chairman	Chairman
Foreign Affairs,	Foreign Affairs	Foreign Affairs and	Foreign and European
Defence and Security	Committee	Defence Committee	Union Affairs
Committee	The Riigikogu	House of the Oireachtas	Committee
Senate	Estonia	Ireland	The Senate
Czech Republic			Poland
Marek Ženíšek	David McAllister	Piero Fassino	Marek Kuchciński
Chairman	Chairman	Chairman	Chairman
Foreign Affairs	Committee on Foreign	Foreign Affairs	Foreign Affairs
Committee	Affairs	Committee	Committee
Chamber of Deputies	European Parliament	The Chamber of	The Sejm
Czech Republic		Deputies	Poland

Italy

Martin Lidegaard

Chairman
The Foreign Policy
Committee
Folketinget

Bertel Haarder

Denmark

Chairman
The Foreign Affairs
Committee
Folketinget
Denmark

Jean-Louis Bourlanges

Chairman
Foreign Affairs
Committee
National Assembly
France

Michael Roth

Chairman
Foreign Affairs
Committee
Bundestag
Germany

Rihards Kols

Chairman
Foreign Affairs
Committee
The Saeima
Latvia

Laima Liucija Andrikienė

Chairperson
Foreign Affairs
Committee
The Seimas
Lithuania

Pau Marí Klose

Chairman
Foreign Affairs
Committee
Congress of Deputies

Tom Tugendhat

Spain

Chairman
Foreign Affairs
Committee
House of Commons
United Kingdom